Civil services – dream of every student


To become an IAS, IPS officer is the dream of every indian student, but to grab this opportunity students have to work harder more than his ability.

The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the union public service commission for recruitment to various civil services of the government of India, including the Indian administrative services (IAS), Indian foreign services (IFS), and Indian police services (IPS). Also simply referred to as the UPSC examination, it is conducted in three phases – a preliminary examination consisting of two objective-type papers (General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II also popularly known as Civil Service Aptitude Test or CSAT), and a main examination consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay) type, in which two papers are qualifying and only marks of seven are counted followed by a personality test (interview).


  • For the Indian Administrative Service and the Indian Police Service, the candidate must be a citizen of India.
  • For other services, the candidate must be one of the following:
  • A citizen of India.
  • A citizen of Nepal or a subject of Bhutan.
  • A Tibetan refugee who settled permanently in India before 1 January 1962.

Educational qualification

All candidates must have as a minimum one of the following educational qualifications:

  • A degree from a Central, State or a Deemed university
  • A degree received through correspondence or distance education
  • A degree from an open university
  • A qualification recognized by the Government of India as being equivalent to one of the above

The following candidates are also eligible, but must submit proof of their eligibility from a competent authority at their institute/university at the time of the main examination, failing which they will not be allowed to attend the exam.

  • Candidates who have appeared in an examination the passing of which would render them educationally qualified enough to satisfy one of the above points.
  • Candidates who have passed the final exam of the mbbs degree but have not yet completed an internship.
  • Candidates who have passed the final exam of ICAI, ICSI and ICWAI.
  • A degree from a private university.
  • A degree from any foreign university recognized by the association of Indian universities.


The candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years (for the General category candidate) on 1 August of the year of examination. Prescribed age limits vary with respect to caste reservations.

Number of attempts

The number of times a candidate can appear for the exam are given below.

  • General category candidates – 6
  • OBC category candidates – 9
  • SC/ST candidates – unlimited attempts till 37 years of age.

Appearing to attempt one of the papers in the preliminary examination is counted as an attempt, including disqualification/ cancellation of candidature. However, applying to sit the exam but failing to attend is not counted as an attempt.

After ,accomplishing all this eligibility criteria students have to ready for preparing the entrances, as all we know this exam conduct in three variations,

First: preliminary exams

Second: mains exam

Third: interview –personality test

Students have to clear all this rounds, after completing all this rounds students have to go for eleven months physical training in Hyderabad.

Hope if you are dreaming to become an IAS, IPS officer so you will accomplish it, this services just need your hardwork and smart work.

Author: contentwriterrichaaggarwal

a content writer and story teller